GRHS Theatre takes second at State Thespian Festival

The Green River High School theatre department earned a second place finish at the annual Wyoming Thespian Festival in Gillette, Wyoming on December 8-10, setting a new school record with 13 students receiving a total of 19 All-State recognitions.

This year's festival featured performances and workshops by top theatre professionals, as well as competitions in various categories.

The Green River High School theatre department impressed judges with their two one-act play performances of "Steel Magnolias" and an original piece written by students titled "Failed Role," earning them a second place finish overall.

In addition to their strong showing as a group, 13 individual students from Green River High School were recognized with All-State honors. Some students earned multiple All-State awards, bringing the team total to 19. This is a new record for the school, and a testament to the hard work and dedication of the students and their directors Bradlee W. Skinner, Melissa Skinner, Julie Mortensen, and Julia Eaton.

"We are incredibly proud of our students and the entire theatre department," said Green River High School Principal Darren Heslep, who was also awarded with the Wyoming Arts Advocacy Award for Administrator of the Year for his support the arts. "Their success at the Wyoming Thespian Festival is a reflection of their talent and their commitment to the art of theatre."

The theatre department was honored to accept the Administrator of the Year award on behalf of Mr. Heslep and they will present this award to him at the January school board meeting.

A second Arts Advocacy Award will also be presented to Representative Scott Heiner as Legislator of the Year for his support for the arts in schools.

The Green River High School theatre department will continue to build on their success and is already looking forward to next year's festival. Congratulations to all the students and instructors involved in this outstanding achievement.

All State Recipients

Short Film: Rhiannon Schultz

Solo Musical: Elizabeth Figenser

Solo Musical: Laural Kurth

Solo Musical: Abigail Smith

Group Musical: Owen Adams, Abigail Smith, Grace Gomez, Brooklyn Barrenz, Kaylee Noyes, Madilyn Grubb

Makeup Design, Realistic: Kaylee Noyes

Duet Acting: Grace Gomez and Keira Mollman

Monologue: Laural Kurth

Monologue: Abigail Smith

Duet Musical: Elizabeth Figenser and Hannah Skinner

Devised Theatre: Dakota Hudson

Original Scripts: Ray Barrett

Honorable Mentions

Costume Design: Ray Barrett 

Short Film: Hannah Skinner

Short Film: Madilyn Grubb

Duet Musical: David Ross and Owen Adams

Devised Theater: Madilyn Grubb

Proscenium: Elizabeth Figenser, Grace Gomez, Hannah Skinner, Kaylee Noyes, Laural Kurth, Keira Mollman


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 06/15/2024 14:12