Time to vote

General Election will be held Nov. 8

It's time for the people to make their voice heard.

The Wyoming General Election is Tuesday, November 8. Those who haven't already voted by absentee ballot can show up to the polls to cast their votes in person. Polling locations throughout Sweetwater County will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday. Voter ID is required at all polling locations.

Early Absentee Voting at the Sweetwater County Courthouse at 80 West Flaming Gorge Way in Green River will be open during normal business hours up through November 7. All absentee ballots must be received by the Sweetwater County Clerk's Office by 7 p.m. on Tuesday, November 8. Absentee ballots cannot be delivered to a polling place.

The general election will determine federal, state, county and local positions, as well as determine whether certain constitutional amendments and taxes are passed.

All voters will be asked if they are for or against two proposed amendments to the Wyoming constitution. Amendment A would allow the funds of counties, cities and other political subdivisions to be invested in equities such as the stock of corporations. Amendment B would increase the mandatory retirement age of supreme court and district court judges from 70 to 75.

Sweetwater County residents will also be asked if two taxes should be adopted. The first tax is the renewal of the existing Lodging Tax, a 2% sales tax for guests in hotels, motels, campgrounds, and similar establishments. The second tax is the 1% specific purpose sales tax. The ballot question lists the specific projects the tax will fund and the cost of those projects.

While many elected positions were determined during the primary election in August, other races have continued to the general election with candidates from multiple parties vying for the position.

Elected positions everyone in Sweetwater County will vote on include:

Federal race:

- U.S. Representative: Harriet Hageman (Republican) and Lynette Greybull (Democrat)

State races:

- Governor: Incumbent Mark Gordon (Republican), Theresa Livingston (Democrat) and Jared Baldes (Libertarian)

- Superintendent of Public Instruction: Megan Degenfelder (Republican) and Sergio A. Moldonado, Sr. (Democrat)

Uncontested state races:

- Secretary of State Chuck Gray (Republican)

- State Auditor Kristi Racines (Republican)

- State Treasurer Curt Meier (Republican)

County races:

- County Sheriff: Incumbent John Grossnickle (Republican) and Chris Sutton (Independent)

- County Treasurer: Incumbent Joseph M. Barbuto (Democrat) and Mark Cowan (Republican)

Uncontested county races:

- County Commissioner: Island Richards (Republican), Robb Slaughter (Republican), and Keaton D. West (Republican)

- County Coroner: Dale Majhanovich (Democrat)

- County Attorney Dan Erramouspe (Republican)

- Clerk of the District Court: Donnalee Bobak (Republican)

- County Clerk: Cindy Lane (Republican)

- County Assessor: Dave Divis (Republican)

Sweetwater County residents will also be asked if current judges should be retained in their positions.

State Senators in Districts 11 and 13 will be elected, as well as State Representatives in Districts 15, 17, 18, 39, 47, 48 and 60.

Residents in Green River, Rock Springs, Granger and Wamsutter will vote on mayor and city council positions.

Board of Trustees positions for Sweetwater County School Districts 1 and 2 and Western Wyoming Community College will be up for election, as well as other districts including conservation districts, hospital districts, water and sewer districts, and more.

The county website, sweetwatercountywy.gov, has election information including sample ballots, candidate information, help finding where to vote, elections maps and more. Residents can also contact the County Clerk's office with questions.


Reader Comments(0)