Green River Star -

Wrestlers take 4th in Evanston


December 13, 2017

Danna Flores

Payton Tucker wrestles an opponent during action in Evanston

The Green River High School wrestling team took to the mat for the first time over the weekend.

The Wolves competed in an invitational tournament in Evanston, earning a fourth-place finish with 149 points. The Wolves finished behind Rock Springs High School, which earned 173 points, second-place Bear River High School with 222 points and Spring Creek High School, which earned 288.5 points.

"I think overall, we competed," head wrestling coach Josh Wisniewski said. "I would like us to work on fixing some things in the wrestling room this week to get better."

The Wolves will travel to Rifle, Colo., for competition this weekend.

"I'm excited to see how we compete this weekend in Colorado," Wisniewski said.

Varsity Results

106 division

Clayson Mele took second place after Zachary Bingham of Bear River won a tie breaker match.

113 division

Dominic Martinez took third place after beating Rock Springs' Zach Vasques by decision.

Cody Price took fifth in this division.

120 division

Kade Knezovich took second after Josh Tripp of Spring Creek defeated Knezovich by fall.

138 division

Justin Flores took sixth after losing by decision to Lee Woolsey of Weber.

145 division

Nathan McCann took second after being defeated, by fall, by Anthony Chavez of Springs Creek.

195 division

Payton Tucker finished first in the division after defeating Evanston's Gavin Simmons by decision.

220 division

Justin Rubalcaba took sixth after losing to Pinedale's Kadar Criddle through injury default.

Junior Varsity results

106 division

Nathan Campos took second after losing to Bear River's Trenton Ward by fall.

113 division

Kade Flores took first in the division after defeating Rj Davison of Rock Springs by fall.

126 division

Gabe Patton took second after losing to Kendell Cummings of Evanston by fall.

132 division

Jacob Weipert took first after defeating Waylon Martinez of Rock Springs by fall.

138 division

Anthony Wood took third place after winning his match by fall against Rawlins' Brayan Sanchez

160 division

Brett McKeehan took first after defeating Braxton Christensen of Bear River by fall.

170 division

Jon TyLeininger took first after beating Mountain View's Bridger Harris by fall.

182 division

Kaden Lloyd took first after defeating Trevor Wadman of Bear River by fall. Seddon Sanders took fifth in this division.

285 division

Sage Wilde took fifth in this division after defeating Dixon Owen of Bear River by fall.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 10/27/2019 20:42