GRHS speech team back on top


February 7, 2018

The Wolves faced tough competition this weekend, but still came back home with a first-place trophy.

The Green River High School Speech and Debate team traveled to the Natrona County for its tournament. Thirty one teams and more than 600 students from Wyoming and South Dakota attended this tournament.

“This is the biggest and most competitive tournament we have traveled to this season,” assistant coach Jason Grubb said. “Most events had over 50 competitors. Some as many as 90. Since we are nearing the end of the season, students have fallen into their competitive stride. The competition was definitely elevated.”

Despite the heightened competition, the Green River team rose to the occasion and came home with first with 103 points, Cheyenne East took second with 75 and Cheyenne Central took third with 74 points

“Everyone stepped up, especially our freshman,” Grubb said. “Everyone did their part at the tournament and it was exciting to watch our captains and seniors who have competed at this tournament in the past provide guidance and support to younger team members as they made their way through semifinal and final rounds.”

To Grubb, several students stood out this week including, Jessica Petri, Amber Gambles and Caeden Grubb. Petri took first place in Lincoln Douglas debate with teammate and team captain Dallin Hoyt. Gambles took fourth place in humorous interpretation. She was the only Green River competitor in the final round of this event. Caeden Grubb took second place in oratory behind teammate and senior Victoria Allen. He also finished in the quarterfinals for Lincoln Douglas debate.

“This level of success by these freshman at this level of competition is phenomenal,” he said.

Another students who stood out to Grubb was Allen who took first place in oratory and tied for first place in policy debate with teammates Atlin Johnson, Patrick Marchal and Gregroy Marchal. Savrina Karimi took first place out of 83 competitors in congressional debate. Raymond Garcia and Katy Robinson took sixth place in duo interpretation.

“After a strong start Garcia and Robinson have had a difficult time getting back on stage,” he said. “They’ve been working hard. We were glad to see them back in the final’s round.”

Through hard work and practice and team continues to improve in its non debate events. Even though the team continues to get better, there are some areas to focus on.

“We could improve our consistency. Lots of students do well one week only to struggle the next,” Grubb said. “We’d like to see students on stage every week and know they can be.” 

After four weeks of traveling, the team will have a well-needed break from competition, but that won’t stop them from practicing. 

“We will continue the practice but not do anything extra,” Grubb said. “We are encouraging the students to catch up on their homework, spend time with friends and family and enjoy their weekend off from traveling.”

Natrona results

Duet: Raymond Garcia and Katy Robinson, sixth place, Trista Parry and Amber Gambles, semifinalists

Extemporaneous: Gregory Marchal, second place, Levi Hren, semifinalist

Informative: Robyn Jauregui, Mikki Scott and Abbie Grubb, semifinalists

Program of oral interpretation: Lynzi Johnson, fourth place

Poetry: Elaine Comer, semifinalist

Oratory: Victoria Allen, first place, Caeden Grubb, second place

Congress: Savrina Karimi, first place, Jesse Lauze Reyes, second place, Matthew Pickering, third place, Patrick Marchal, fifth place and best chair award Rachel Heisinger, semifinalist

Humor: Amber Gambles, fourth place, Dallin Hoyt and  Raymond Garcia, semifinalists

Cross examination debate: Atlin Johnson and Victoria Allen and  Gregory Marchal and Patrick Marchal, tied for first place, Jesse Lauze Reyes and Rebecca Shamer, third place

Lincoln Douglas debate: Rachel Heisinger, Dallin Hoyt, Jessica Petri and Caeden Grubb quarterfinalists

Public forum debate: Shelby McFadden and Robyn Jauregui, third place Laura Cecelia and Leona Grimes and Matthew Pickering and Ramsey Talliafero, quarterfinalists


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018