Cowboys' Allen named to QB award watch list


University of Wyoming junior quarterback Josh Allen was one of only 30 college players named to the 2017 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List on Wednesday. It is the first time in Allen’s career that he has been named to the O’Brien Award Watch List

Members of the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee created this year’s list based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2017 college football season.

As a sophomore in 2016, Allen ranked No. 1 in the Mountain West and No. 6 nationally in passing yards per completion (15.33 yards). He also led the MW and was No. 16 in the country in points responsible for (218). Allen threw 28 touchdown passes in 2016, placing him No. 1 in the conference and No. 20 in the NCAA. He was second in the MW and 32nd in the nation in passing yards (3,203). Allen was also No. 2 in the conference and No. 40 in the nation in total offense (266.1 yards per game).

The O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented each year to the nation’s best college quarterback.The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.

Sixteen semifinalists for the award will be named on Nov. 7. From that list, the Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce the three finalists on Monday, Nov. 20. The 2017 Davey O’Brien Award winner will be announced live Dec. 7 on The Home Depot College Football Awards.

The 2017 season marks the 11th year that fans will be invited to participate in the voting process on

Results from the Davey O’Brien Fan Vote will be combined with the ballots from the Selection Committee. Fan voting, which accounts for five percent of the total balloting, will begin Sept. 5.

This is the second preseason honor for Allen this year. He was also named to the Maxwell Award Watch List.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018