Green River Star -

Sweetwater County kids to perform in State Honor Choir


Eleven members of the Sweetwater Board of Cooperative Educational Services County Children’s Honor Choir, and the Stagecoach Elementary Choir have been selected by their conductor to perform in the 2017 Wyoming American Choral Directors Association) All State Children’s Honor Choir June 3 in Casper.

The singers include: Maggie Smith, Victoria Wahl, Breanna Quickenden, Helena McManus, Kenidee Fullmer, Tori Hester, Michaela Doyle, Asa Harmon, Savannah Cheney, Abby Smith and Makayla Johnson.

The 135-voice choir will be under the direction of Fred Meads, staff member of the American Boychoir School in Princeton, N. J., serving as the director of vocal studies. His duties include teaching private voice lessons, leading ear-training classes and conducting daily rehearsals of the Training Choir. 

Included in the repertoire for the 2017 All State Wyoming ACDA Children’s Honor Choir performance will be “Child’s Play’,by Louis Calabro;” “Oh, Think of Me,” by Elaine Hagenberg; “Laudamus Te,” by W.A. Mozart, arranged by Melissa Malvar-Keylock and Jill Friedersdorf; “Stand Together,” by Jim Papoulis; “Menina Me Da Sum Mao” (Give Me Your Hand, Menina), a Brazilian Folk song arranged by Brad and Lucy Green; and “Sahayta,” by Ben Allaway.

The Casper Children’s Chorale and its director, Marcia Patton, will host the Wyoming 2017 ACDA Children’s Honor Choir event. Included in the performance will be the Casper Children’s Chorale, performing selections followed by the All-State Choir under the direction of Meads, and concluding in a joint performance of both choirs.

This performance at the Kelly Walsh High School auditorium, will be the 22nd annual performance of the Wyoming ACDA Children’s Honor Choir. This event has been hosted in Rock Springs three of those years by the Sweetwater BOCES Children’s Honor Choir and Sarah Wessel, coordinator and former director.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018

Rendered 08/06/2018 00:06