Green River Star -

By Stephanie Thompson
People Editor 

Speech team receives national recognition


The Green River High School Speech and Debate Team recently received a letter stating it was going to receive one of the highest national recognitions.

Head coach Carina Stulken said the team received the letter from the National Speech and Debate Association about a week ago.

The letter was written to inform the GRHS team that is has earned the 2014-15 Leading Chapter Award in the Wind River District.

“This coveted honor, based on student participation, is the highest recognition the Association can bestow upon a chapter. Only one school in each district attains this designation each year, as it must wait at least five years before being eligible again. Out of more than 3,000 member schools nationwide, your school is one of only 110 to receive the Leading Chapter Award,” the letter states.

“We received the award five years ago,” Stulken said. “It takes some teams years and years to rebuild their points to receive this award so for Green River to receive it again so quickly is a testament to the teams numbers and success.”

Stulken said students earn points for each round of competition they are in; and based off of what the team accumulates together is how the association keeps track of the total.

“Your award reflect 769 members and degrees over six years. In that time several hundred students have been taught communication, analysis, leadership and social skills,” the letter states. “The Leading Chapter Award serves as an indication of your relentless dedications to these students and to speech and debate education.”

“It is a tremendous honor for our program to be nationally recognized,” Stulken said.

She is proud of the students, school and coaches.

“We have a wonderful school district with great administrators that support this program,” Stulken said. Stulken also wanted to thank coaches Dan Parson, RaNae Johnson and Jason Grubb.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017